SFPA Elgin Awards Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Poetry Association has announced the 2017 Elgin Awards for speculative poetry book and chapbook of the year. This year’s chair was Josh Brown. 52 books were nominated by the members and represented 44 publishers from around the world. This year included the first Hmong American book of poetry to be nominated for an Elgin, as well as books from the Burmese, Vietnamese, Korean-American, Chinese-American, Filipina-American, South Asian American, Japanese-American, and Singaporean traditions, just to name a few. The majority of nominees were excellent texts and it was easy to see how and why many of them were nominated.

elgin total.jpg

The winners include:

Full Length Category
First: Field Guide to the End of the World • Jeannine Hall Gailey (Moon City Press, 2016)

Second (tie): A History of the Cetacean American Diaspora • Jenna Le (Anchor & Plume, 2016)

Second (tie): Small Spirits: Dark Dolls • Marge Simon (Midnight Town Media, 2016)

Third: Dead  Starships • Wendy Rathbone (Eye Scry Publications, 2016)

Chapbook Category 
First Place: Leviathan • Neil Aitken (Hyacinth Girl Press, 2016)

Second Place: Radio Heart, or; How Robots Fall Out of Love • Margaret Rhee (Finishing Line Press, 2016)

Third Place: Apocalypse • John C. Mannone (Alban Lake, 2015)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s